Thursday, March 4, 2010

TSU President Melvin N. Johnson Among Thurgood Marshall College Fund's Community Leadership Awards Honorees

The Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF) will honor four distinguished leaders of the Nashville education and political community for their professional and civic excellence on Monday, March 8, at Tennessee State University.

The Community Leadership Awards are presented annually to an individual or organization whose efforts carry on Justice Thurgood Marshall’s legacy and equality. Recipients have promoted the mission of public Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) by exemplifying professional and civic excellence in their respective communities.  The 11th Annual CLA Honorees - are:

• Presidential Leadership Award: Dr. Melvin N. Johnson, President, Tennessee State University
• Community Leadership Award: Patricia P. Stokes, President & CEO, Urban League of Middle Tennessee and William U. Latham, Ph.D., Associate Director Leadership Studies, Corporate Development/Service, Tennessee State University
• Alumni Leadership Award: Representative Brenda Gilmore, Tennessee General Assembly/District 54

"The honorees have made enormous advances in higher education and politics, dedicating their lives to public service,” said Dr. N. Joyce Payne, founder of  theThurgood Marshall College Fund. “Their work expands beyond the walls of their local communities and inspires youth that attend the 47-public Historically Black Colleges and Universities across the nation by serving as role models for these young men and women to reach their true potential.”

Emmy-Award winning Meteorologist, Lelan A. Statom of Storm 5HD Weather/Talk of the Town, News Channel 5 Network will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

(Pictured below: TSU President Melvin N. Johnson, Representative Brenda Gilmore, TSU Honors Program Associate Director William Latham,  Urban League of Middle Tennessee President Patricia P. Stokes)

No comments:

Post a Comment