Friday, January 22, 2010

THINK BIG: Six Campus Leaders Selected for President’s Fellowship Program

Six Tennessee State University faculty and staff members were selected for the University's President’s Fellowship Program, a seven-month program that combines service and mentorship.

An initiative designed to provide participants with an in-depth exposure to University administration and policy-making, the President’s Fellowship Program provides mentoring, networking, research opportunities, university service and guidance in preparation for career advancement for emerging leaders.

Open to all full-time employees who have been at the University a minimum of three years, the program lasts from October to April. Applicants may nominate themselves or be nominated by a co-worker. Each fellow completes a service project that will improve TSU or the surrounding community; the fellow also collaborates with a campus administrator as a mentor. At the culmination of the program, fellows make a presentation about their projects.

“One of the University’s goals is to prepare our students to navigate the global marketplace. In order to facilitate this goal, it is essential that we cultivate our employees to bring innovative ideas, services and programs to our students. The President’s Fellowship Program equips outstanding employees with more tools and knowledge to better serve TSU and the surrounding community,” said Sandra Keith, director of equity, diversity and compliance, who leads the program.

The 2009-2010 President’s Fellows are:

• Dr. Carolyn Caudle, associate professor in the department of biological sciences.
• Ginger Hausser-Pepper, assistant director of service learning and civic engagement
• Dr. Natalie Housel, associate professor of physical therapy
• LaKecia Hudson, assistant director of the career development center
• Dr. Reginald McDonald, assistant professor of music and associate director of bands
• Dr. Teresa Kent Todd, assistant professor of French and Spanish
• Anjetta Williams, coordinator of maintenance and scheduling for facilities management

L to R: Dr. Teresa Kent Todd, Dr. Reginald McDonald, Dr. Natalie Housel, Dr. Melvin N. Johnson, Ginger Hausser-Pepper, Anjetta Williams, and LaKecia Hudson. (Not pictured: Dr. Carolyn Caudle)

No comments:

Post a Comment